Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop.

Discuss bọth views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have differing views about the impacts of boosting economic growth. While some hold the opinion that helps the economy take off is the unique way to halt poverty and hunger, I believe that this development puts more pressure on the government’s shoulders to address environmental problems and therefore should be stopped.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that ending world hunger and poverty is possible if the economy of this nation flourishes. Firstly, individuals have to live in poor conditions mostly because they are unemployed, so covering basic needs including accommodation is too difficult. The developing economy will create more job opportunities; therefore, they can rent a house or refurbish their refuge. Secondly, such hunger is partly due to the shortage of food, for in some nations with extreme weather conditions such as Japan, food price is more exorbitant in comparison with in other nations. A booming economy may entail the development of machines used in agriculture which boost the crop yield. Thanks to those benefits, hunger and poverty will be addressed.

On the other hand, I strongly concur with the view that the development of economy will lead to environmental deterioration. It is unavoidable that when an economy grows, it will create more waste and emissions due to the mushrooming of many manufacturing companies and the domination of machines. This can be elaborated by the serious contamination in China – a leading economy in the world. Furthermore, rich nations often have tendency to export pollution intensive activities, like manufacturing of clothing and furniture, to less developed countries, which is generously endowed with abundant natural resources. Thus, the result of this process is increase in environmental degradation in developed countries and therefore should be stopped.

In conclusion, although some people advocate the economic development to combat poverty and hunger in the world, I cannot neglect its detrimental effects on the environment and somehow think that this development should not continue.