The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

Overweight is major concern nowadays of many people all in the world. To address this issue, this essay will examine the major causes and effects of obesity status.

Overweight can happen from many different causes. One of the main causes of overweight is the high intake of junk food such as hamburgers, chips, and fried chicken. In addition, many people prefer to have a takeaway meal than preparing to cook meal at home. For example, parents often buy fast food because of their convenience and accidentally create bad eating habits for their children. This calorie-rich diet is making people become obese. And the second reason is lacking of exercises for body. Today, the more modern technology, the more people do not have much time to spend for themselves to exercise. Even kids are mostly spending more time on watching movies or playing games than going out and taking part in extracurricular activities.

From the causes of obesity, we can see serious consequences such as health effects such as heart disease, diabetes, etc. In addition, obesity also makes the person are appearance becomes ugly, which causing them to lose self-esteem, afraid to communicate with people around.

In conclusion, the causes of obesity can be derived to the harmful diet and inappropriate training mode. Therefore, to prevent obesity rising, it is necessary to plan a balance between healthy diet and exercise regimen for themselves.