Some people say that the environmental problem of our time is the loss the particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Environmental problems have caused controversy about whether the risks for endangered animals and wildlife or any other environmental-related issues are the most severe consequences of our worsening environment. While I consider the impact of repetitive natural disasters to be crucial, in my opinion, the loss of species is the most critical threat to nature.

To begin with, it is not uncommon that recent catastrophic natural disasters have shared a close connection to climate change. Many researchers have clarified that the impact of global warming has caused the rise of sea level by melting ice in the two poles, which resulted in the frequency of tsunamis and floods. An illustration of this point would be Japan, one of the Asian countries that suffer from tsunamis every year. Thousands of people have lost their houses and relatives as a result of this natural disaster, and the effects of which require billions of dollars to repair. However, to say that it is worse than the extinction of certain species would overlook the fact that they are related.

The main reason that I side with those who focus on plant and animal life is because of the correlation between wildlife and climate change. It is undeniable that deforestation is the main contributor to global warming due to urbanization and industrialization. Amazon rainforest would be a particularly striking example of this, about 17 percent of the forest has been destroyed over the past 50 years, and losses recently have been on the rise. In this regard, the animals would also be affected due to the cut in food and shelters. The extinction of these animals would likely have a domino effect on the fragile ecosystem of the forest and other endangered animals like tapirs and giant otters.

In conclusion, the loss of ecological diversity trumps any other environmental issues. In order to remedy these problems, governments and individuals should make a joint effort to not only invest in conservation for endangered species but also work towards long-term reforms related to climate change.