Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that parents can effectively plan their children’s free time activities thanks to their experience and maturity. However, I am of the opinion that letting them be more autonomous better nurtures their inborn talents.

On the one hand, parents are well-positioned to decide on the most productive leisure activities. This argument claims that parents are better equipped with the requisite knowledge acquired from parenting courses and online communities. On these platforms, they can learn about not only the educational impacts of various recreational activities but also how to organize them properly. For example, the Facebook group “We Trek” provides informative posts on the benefits of camping trips, a list of the necessary equipment and instructions pertaining to campsite set-up. By following professional instructions, parents can organize an effective camping session, simultaneously, ensure safety and an educational experience for their children.

On the other hand, I believe that freedom of choice enables children to develop their unique talents. The majority of young people opt for activities that fascinate them intrinsically, thus developing an individual interest that their guardians might overlook or disapprove of. Gaudi, the foremost proponent of the Catalan architectural school, was allowed to follow his own interests, exploring shapes and patterns in nature during his childhood. These observations later inspired extraordinary designs such as the Sagrada Familia that was inspired by and embraces the shape of an ant’s nest. Such a remarkable and precocious natural talent might have been inadvertently neglected, if his mother had guided his activities to facilitate a presumably safer and more secure career outside the humanities in medicine, law, or business.

In conclusion, although parents might be capable of making more informed selections, children should be made free to follow their own interests. In my opinion, parents ought to allow kids to juggle multiple roles in diverse settings to organically identify potential personal professional passions.