Some people say that giving a smaller amount of money weekly to children will help them become more capable of managing their money as they grow older. Do you agree or disagree?

An encouraging habit that will sharpen children’s skills regarding personal finance in the long run is providing pocket money. On one hand, I am inclined to believe that as children are given a little amount of money, they will effortlessly gain knowledge and financial concepts. On the other hand, hardly can we deny that there are so many potential downsides which negatively affect the spending habit of those children.

To assess the reason why more and more parents giving their children money on a daily basis, we must bring the considerable advantages into focus. Assuming a child was struggling to cope with the heavy workload from school, buying some new toys or spending on a night out with friends would be therapeutic for his or her mental health. In fact, not only can youngsters have a sum of money at their disposal, but they also have a fund in case of emergency. In addition, it is significant to shower our close ones with presents by the money that we saved up over a period of time. Another event that might require any individuals to have some amount of money with them is philanthropic activities, such as the case we donate to the impoverished beggars.

Although so far, one can readily draw the conclusion that allowing kids to have money in their pocket, we must put the downside effects of this teaching method into perspective before judging whether every parent should follow it or not. Overspending money on antisocial or even illegal activities such as addictive games or drugs, children will absolutely ruin their future and become a disappointment to their family reputation. Moreover, spoiled adolescence might be appealed by social vice and gather with bad friends at parties all day without progressing their academic and personal growth. On top of that, because of receiving money without having to work, the kids failed to realize how much effort their parents have put into, and therefore those kids express no appreciation to the value of money.

Taking both sides into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that in principle, giving schoolchildren money can be a way to teach money management but in practice, it may also lead children to the wrong path of life.