Some people say the government should spend money on providing faster public transport while others believe the government should give priority to other factors such as cost and the effect on the environment. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people say that governments should give priority to the development of fast transportation in society rather than paying attention to the effects of the ambient environment. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this for two main reasons. First, advanced transportation could take its toll on the environment through air pollution and second, environmental effects such as global warming and pollution are more significant.

In terms of advanced transportation, the development of this would have an adverse impact on the environment because of the emission of greenhouse gases. In order to power such public transports as the underground or trains, fossil fuels including coal, petroleum, and oil are of necessity because that materials ensure the function of these vehicles. However, this poses a threat to the environment due to the excessive amount of toxic gases emitted into the atmosphere, which not only worsens the air quality but also contributes to the rise of the ambient temperature.

Apart from the reason expressed above, the environmental effects including global warming and pollution are worth-considering in the long-term. It is thought that plants and trees play an indispensable role in regulating the climate because they absorb carbon dioxide from the air and release oxygen back into it. If vast areas of vegetation are burnt or removed, the consequences including the release of stored carbon dioxide and the shortage of oxygen provided to humans will be likely to occur. This is also accompanied by the exploitation of forests for selling timbers, infrastructural development, and farming, all of which are thus even more damaging. That is the reason governments should spend their budget to prevent these situations from happening in the first place.

In conclusion, it is said that providing faster public transport in society should be favoured over the environmental effects. However, I think that it would be a counterproductive effect on the environment, and thus the conservation of the environment is more significant.