Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a suggestion that universities or colleges should give priority to the balanced number of male and female students in each major. From my perspective, I completely disagree because this tendency shows its impractical factor.

The main reason that schools should not strive to balance the number of both genders because this process is often complicated, which requires school staff to spend a relatively large amount of time and effort to accomplish. For instance, in Can Tho University, approximately 8000 students attend this school every year so that the likelihood of including 4000 male and 4000 female students is extremely low. Therefore, it is virtually impossible to list all of these students into distinct groups with equal numbers of gender. Furthermore, such courses as nursing are more prevalent, attracting more female applicants than that of males, and it would be difficult to aim for equal proportions.

Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I also believe that it would be unfair to base admission to university courses on gender. Instead, the number of males and females in universities should be entirely based on their hobbies and qualifications because both men and women have the same opportunities, which directly lays the foundation for their later careers. In contrast, if they are forced to study to fill courses with equal gender, they will not find themselves enthusiastic and motivated enough. Consequently, this would have an adverse effect on students’ performance.

In conclusion, I believe that the selection of universities students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection based on gender.