Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In many developed nations, History, and Science and Technology are being taught as the main subjects in schools. A number of people argue History to be the paramount critical subject while the other are inclined towards Science and Technology. Personally, I think the benefits of learning Science and Technology completely outnumber those of History.

Although History is a subject which concentrates mainly in past events, its importance is still recognised by many people. First, it provides learners a general insights on how catastrophic incidents such as wars brought to our civilization and the way that our forefathers' sacrifices in order to bring us peace. This hence, builds our patriotism, respnsibility of defending for our countries and maintain peace. Besides, History helps maintain our culture and tradition by introducing a range of fascinating knowledge through past activities and festivals. Thus, as a citizen, I am obliged to know all these vital lessons.

Despite the importance of History, we cannot underestimate that of Science and Technology. This is mainly because we are living in a society where they completely dominate the world. For instance, hand phones and other technological devices are owned by almost everyone and we heavily depend on them in all aspects of our lives. Also, as we are living in a world that is more prone to unprecedented illness and diseases, more doctors and scientific research are required to forecast and come up with prevention methods for all these health problems. To illustrates this, the novel and notorious Covid-19 pandemic has resulted in thousands of deaths which means there needs to be a significant improvement on doctors and scientists. Thus, since Science and Technology are so essential, learning those two subjects perhaps, provides learners with well-paid jobs.

To sum up, even though History widens pupils' opinion on their nations and raises their awareness of protecting their mother land. Science and Technology seem to take on a greater importance as they bring to learners the insights of their basic needs as well as occupations with high salaries. Hence, it is better for student to learn something which is more relevant to our modern society.