Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both this views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that courses in History should be a top priority in the school curriculum. While other people believe that science and Technology are of greater importance in contemporary times, I am more supportive of the latter opinion.

On the one hand, it is understandable that history should be considered as the most pivotal discipline. One of the reasons is that learning history can foster patriotism from an early age. Undoubtedly, when taking those courses, students can know that they could not live in peace today without their ancestors’ sacrifice in the past. Therefore, they will love their country more and want to devote themselves to their home countries. Another reason is that studying past events can boost our national pride especially when working abroad. If we are being asked about our country’s history and special tradition by a foreign partner, it is very important to show them our knowledge of prosperous times and famous heroes of nations.

On the other hand, I think it is much better to provide courses in science and technology. Firstly, these courses give us the ability to innovate and approach new technological devices. As a result, people can grasp not only understanding about one field but also other important fields like psychology. Secondly, people having advanced knowledge are better paid than those who don’t. Since technology is required in most parts of careers, employers always tend to hire people with high qualifications to compete with other companies. For example, a survey published in the Times newspaper shows that IT employees earn much more than ordinary people who do not know about computers or robots.

In conclusion, although history is beneficial in some certain aspects, it seems to me that science and technology are more significant to help us survive in a competitive world.