In many places, people’s lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary life, there is a rapid change in people’s lifestyle and this phenomenon has a remarkable influence on family relationships. In my opinion, this tendency comes with both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, changing lifestyle in social activities brings about various positive impacts on family relationships. Firstly, people are more concerned about well-being today so families go to fitness centers together more often. Clearly, this can help bridge the generation gap and promote better communication among family members. Secondly, cutting-edge technology also plays a pivotal role in strengthening family bonds. Thanks to the advance of technology, many digital devices, especially smartphones, laptops have not only become an indispensable part of daily life, but they also motivate communication among friends and families much easier.

On the other hand, adverse impacts are also worth considering when people change lifestyles so fast. Heavy exposure to such means of technology can hurt family relationships and create an invisible barrier in the domestic environment. To illustrate, when each person has an internet-connected device, there will be no communication in the family as people tend to be addicted to surfing online or playing games. Furthermore, in today’s society, people are becoming more career-oriented and subsequently losing the balance between work and family life. In fact, in many households, that parents are too busy to stay at home and raise their children, even outside of official working time, which has led to weakening family interactions.

In conclusion, while the rapidly changing lifestyle is advantageous in some ways, there are several negative impacts as well.