Some people think that more money should be spent to promote the use of bicycles in cities. Others, however, believe that cities should focus on investing in public transport systems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is noticeable that governments are now trying to drive the society to a sustainable development through vehicle habit orientation. While making bicycles prevalent would be a positive measure, I would argue that public transport should be prioritized in most countries.

On the one hand, bicycles are beneficial to the society as a whole for some reasons. From a personal perspective, cyclists are healthy since practicing burns calories and support to metabolic progress, thereby decrease possibility of disease. From a social point of view, cyclist help to create an eco-friendly environment through directly discard exhaust fume disposing to the air. Furthermore, traffic congestion is partly from private vehicles added whose volumes are beyond current infrastructure system. Thanks to traveling by bicycle, it would make the city less crowded in peak hours.

On the other hand, I would argue that it is better to promote public transport as a priority for several reasons. It is inevitable that this is the most effective way to tackle the ongoing issues in most countries. Taking buses and trains rather than driving personal cars and motorbikes result in curbing pollutant and easing traffic congestion. Take Japan as a good mirror in making effort to low traffic jams and pollution rates thanks to their transportation culture using Shinkansen. Apart from that, the bicycle is not as feasible as public transport for long distances. People can travel to work which is far away, 10 km for example, however, it would take an hour compared to approximately 20 minutes by bus. From the above points of view, public transport is a better measurement the government could take to address the current problems.

In conclusion, although I believe that cycling contributes great outcomes to the community, it would be better to invest in infrastructure for public transport system at first.