Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss these views and give your opinion.

There are opposing views about the value of learning different disciplines at school. While some advocate the idea that students need to be taught about historic happenings, others attach greater importance to other scientific subjects or the ones focused on technological advances. Admittedly, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy which will be elaborated in this essay followed by a reasonable conclusion.

On the one hand, the supporters of history put forward some compelling reasons to justify their point of view. Firstly, what they argue is that going over the past events will give learners a more fertile imagination. In other words, given that the majority of school lessons deal with serious and tedious facts, learning about historical accounts can stimulate learners’ imagination. For example, the intriguing stories behind wars and battles are a good illustration of this justification. Secondly, a sound knowledge of what a country has been through is absolutely necessary for every educated and literate person. To put it differently, regardless of one’s major or specialty, they are expected to have a good understanding of their country’s background.

On the other hand, the opponents assert that in modern era this time and energy should be allotted to scientific fields of study and technological developments. The most rational argument in favor of this assertion is that technology has formed an integral part of everyone’s life. Therefore, being taught how to work with these tools and appliances is of immense value since we cannot survive without them. This is amply illustrated by computer which is of paramount importance and almost every learner uses this device for writing their assignments or doing research on the Internet. Moreover, unlike history which is nothing but abstract knowledge with virtually no real application, science has countless practical uses. More specifically, scientific information can be applied in various real life situations.

To conclude, there are convincing arguments on both sides. However, I am of the opinion that compared with history, scientific subjects can prove more beneficial for schoolers. This is mainly because they are indispensable to modern life and have useful applications in reality.