Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In present days, whether History or Science and Technology should be prioritized in education system is of many controversial issues that we have to face. The aim of this essay is to analyze these two sides of the argument and express my own perspective which is inclined to the latter view.

With regard to History, it is believed to take an indispensable role in modern life of every individual. Needless to say, History provides us in-depth knowledge of events as well as historical figures which enhance our pride of national identity. Thanks to this, every citizen is aware of what their forefathers had to sacrifice and shows their gratitude for them. For example, Vietnamese are often said to have a good sense of patriotism because they are well-educated of History since this subject is mandatory at school. As a consequence, a myriad of campaigns and programs are carried out in this nation to raise people awareness of maintaining and developing historical heritages.

However, it is understandable that some subjects related to Science and Technology such as maths or physics are particularly focused in former education in certain territories. With the rapid development of technology in the 4.0 industrial revolution, people strive to gain more scientific and technological understanding in order to mitigate the risk of being replaced by a robotic workforce in the future. Therefore, students should be equipped properly with up-to-date knowledge in this field at an early age. One recent research conducted in Japan has shown that children who are taught scientific and technological skills in primary schools perform better in their career path than those who do not gain these skills until they go to high school.

To reiterate, although History still plays a vital role in the contemporary society, subjects related to Science and Technology are believed to be more important in former education. Thus, each country should develop flexible plans to adapt to different situations so as to continually thrive in this digital age.