Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a wide divergence of opinion on which subject, such as History, Science and Technology, is utmost importance in today’s school. While some opine that History should be mandatory, I hold that practical subjects related to Science and Technology are more necessary in our evolving world.

The main reason why students should study History at school is that not only does this subject teach them what their forefathers experienced and suffered in the past to make their countries what they are today, it also helps people know their own culture and the evolution of societies. Moreover, learn about the past often gives a glimpse of the future. To illustrate, the past world wars were the most devastating life incidents. Children need to be educated about these crucial events so that they will be well aware of the consequences and hopefully avoid any such situations in the future.

Although History should still be taught, Science and Technology should be prioritised because these are more likely to have an impact on a person’s future career. Very few students are projected to end up with careers in History, as historians or professors, but a large percentage will work in such fields as Economy or Technology. For example, in Vietnam, the most popular university majors are engineering, finance, and graphic design. Evidently, these majors might give students a head start on potential future career and increase their chances of having a higher standard of living, thereby promoting the economic growth of a country.

For the foregoing discussions, I would reiterate that school administrators should not remove History from the timetable, but they should devote more time and resources to the teaching of practical subjects to meet the needs of the future job market, especially the technology market.