Some people say that the increasing business and cultural contact between countries is a positive development, while others think that many countries will lose their national identities as a result. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The growth in globalization is believed by some that have boosted economic development and better cross-cultural understanding on a global scale. However, some people argue that such development is the biggest culprit behind the degradation of cultural identity in many countries. Although both sides have rational reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay, personally, I believe it is a positive trend.

On the one hand, some people are afraid that globalization will pose a threat to the cultural quintessence of each nation. Indeed, the dominance of affluent countries’ cultures speeds up the disappearance of others’ cultural heritages. For instance, being exposed to international social media and friends, the Vietnamese young generation prefers American and Korean songs, films, and TV shows rather than their traditional ones due to the process of integration. As a consequence, occident costumes, foods, and lifestyles have gradually penetrated Vietnamese people’s daily lives, taking the place of time-honored values. In addition, to facilitate commercial activities with prosperous countries, such as America, China, Korea, and Japan, it is required to know their languages or at least be fluent in English, leading to the problem that other minor dialects would gradually be on the verge of extinction.

However, I agree with the opinion that the expansion of global business and cultural relations is a largely helpful development. First and foremost, both guest and host countries have experienced a surge in employment opportunities and unparalleled economic gains under globalization. Businesses can reap the benefits from a drop in trade barriers such as penetrating potential overseas markets and taking advantage of incentives for foreign investment of host countries to upscale their business. Meanwhile, competent employees can have chances to work in multinational corporations, benefiting from favorable compensation and great opportunities to develop career paths. Furthermore, globalization has also encouraged the tourism industry, thereby, promoting a better understanding of other cultures. Experiencing different ways of life, discovering new food and customs and visiting cultural sites will eventually help people broaden their knowledge, respect other cultures, and integrate positive values into their belief system.

In conclusion, while this matter can be associated with both advantageous and disadvantageous, I am more inclined to believe in its positivity. Nevertheless, it is important to strike a balance, so that nations can reap rewards from international trade and cultural exchange without sacrificing their own identity.