Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are more successful.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is asserted by a number of people that individuals’ wealth is the most significant factor to determine success. Conversely, the opponents claim that this concept is represented by those who contribute to the sake of the society. I would concede that the latter lays a solid foundation to the definition of success.

Admittedly, the desire for a high material life quality has instilled in the public certain prejudices and criticism about personal achievements based on the level of wealth. It is ubiquitous that in this day and age, individuals’ image of professionalism and luxury is likely to accompany their achievements. For instance, an illustrious billionaire will be generally regarded as a successful person according to his company’s lucrativity and influence on the market. Undoubtedly, the result-oriented society will consider this group as a role model of success due to what they have obtained and their greater sense of satisfaction about their lives. After all, the final goal of human lives is to be financially free to afford a pleasurable life and this notion is reasonable to some extent.

For another, those who pursue meaningful outlets are more appreciative to be the definition of success due to their contribution to society. Human progress, however, is not able to continue without the involvement of people such as teachers and researchers, both of which carry the duty to enlighten and gear the others to a better and improved life. This group does not derive material gratification from their jobs but the personal joy from the full exercise of their abilities. Yet, from a psychological perspective, this could be regarded as a form of satisfaction when people do it for passion and find true achievements behind their success which is also beneficial to others.

To conclude, although both views have some certain validity, I believe that one’s ability to shape the world should be held in a higher esteem for its foundational merits to our society.