Some people say that industrial growth is necessary to solve poverty, but some other people argue that industrial growth is creating an environmental problem and it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views on whether industrial development should be encouraged to eradicate poverty or should be stopped to reduce global environmental related issues. Although a smaller section of the population believed that this phenomenon will create employment and increase the purchasing power of a nation, I consider that further development should be in favour of the environment.

Firstly, the main reason for the majority of people below the poverty line is because of the unemployment rate. It is widely known that if any industry growing, it will contribute to afford opportunities to many jobless people. Secondly, having substantial and salary, residents would not show a reluctance to purchase goods and services in order to fulfil their elementary needs. This will not only greatly increase in the procurement but also increase the overall country’s economy by paying taxes. This extra accrued fund could be then utilised in the development of remaining financial limited individuals.

On the other hand, despite the above arguments, according to me, it is more important to consider the long-term benefits. Any industrial development, including chemical factories, automotive, which are the primary causes of air contamination are deleterious to human health as well as to global environmental issues. If such corporations increase significantly, then it will cause to the whole planet by which everyone would suffer from it. Instead, there should obviously be growth in the industries, but they contribute to the mitigate the environmental issues rather than increasing them.

In conclusion, while developing an industry would play an important role in solving the poverty issue, I believe that those industries should consider plans which could bring benefits in the long run.