Some people say that it is impossible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that a country cannot succeed in economic development and also possess an unpolluted environment at the same time. I completely agree with this point of view.

First of all, it is obvious that achieving success in economic areas has the same meaning as the perception of the public will possibly be placed on improving the country's economy instead of paying attention to keeping their environment clean. To develop their financial conditions, citizens tend to damage the environment more and more frequently. For example, building as many factories and companies as possible or exerting numerous negative effects on the ocean or forest by reducing it to make way for shops, restaurants, and cinemas may lead to serious environmental pollution and problems. For instance, making room for one factory which can contain 3000 employees needs at least 100 trees to be removed completely, according to BBC News.

On the other hand, if people opt to save the environment, they may miss opportunities to enrich their country. Individuals need to spend a large amount of money on taking care of their surrounding areas in order to keep it clear; therefore, their budget for other demands in their lives may be diminished, which results in a decrease in GNP each year. Moreover, they may have preferences to commute by public transportation and stop traveling by their vehicles. This can cause a reduction in the price of petrol, and also the economy of the country can be impacted by far.

In conclusion, having successfully economic improvements means that people living in that country may have to lose their chance to protect the environment. The people can only choose either their country's financial development or their clean and safe surroundings.