Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing medicines intended for human use. Others, however, think it is cruel and unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that people have different views on whether animals should be used for medical experiments for the sake of human or not. While many people claim that it is cruel and should be prohibited, I am in favor of this method for medical treatments.

On the one hand, there are a few reasons why people oppose to experiments on animals. Obviously, it is cruel and inhumane to subject animals to this kind of trauma. In fact, in the laboratories where animals are experimented, they have to suffer from physical pain, even with deprivation of food and water. Additionally, the cost of animal experimentation is exorbitant, so large amounts of state budget are expended on the establishment of facilities and human resources. It is believed that that money should be spent on other important fields such as education or technology.

On the other hand, it is true that there is no other effective alternative to animal experimentation, therefore it is still necessary. First, experiments need to be implemented on animals to discover new medications and or treatments to save people’s life. Currently, even supercomputers are unable to understand the workings of complex organ such as brain or heart, so despite of the inhumanity of this method, there is no other choice for medical developments. Due to biological similarity, people still are reliant on animal testing. In fact, for many years, chimpanzees have been used to investigate new advanced treatments, and some serious diseases such as cancer or heart attacks have been cured successfully thank to this approach.

In conclusion, although animal testing is against the human morality and costs a huge of fortune, protection of human life can justify animal’s suffering.