Nowadays, many animal species are becoming extinct. Some people believe that countries and individuals must solve this problem, others believe that humans beings are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people have different views on the issue whether animal species extinction should be solved or not. While it could be argued that human welfare should be the priority, I would maintain that urgent actions need to be taken to prevent further loss of endangered animals.

On the one hand, those who have social conscience would claim that how important it is to bring about major socio-economic changes in order to benefit the mass of humanity. Obviously, famine, poverty and natural disasters are shown on TV every day, which are still the suffering of large number of citizens. Also, the struggles for an egalitarian society where natural resources are shared and wars have taken place regularly, need to be pursued vigorously. At the same time, those people believe that the extinction of some animals is just a natural process such as the disappearance of dinosaurs. Therefore, huge allocation of resources should be used for the improvement of people’s living conditions, rather animal species.

On the other hand, I agree with those in green movement who insist that the protection of human and animal survival could go hand in hand. First, the necessity of protecting animals could be seen in ecological aspect. A healthy ecology relies heavily on animal as their foundation. When any animal species disappear, it will be the sign that our ecological system is slowly falling apart. Moreover, natural habitats ensure the survival of animals, while many scientist claims that these habitats are also vital for human survival. For example, rainforests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide, and stabilize the Earth’s climate. By protection of animal species and their habitats, we can maintain natural balance of our planet. Also, many species of animals also play an indispensable role in agriculture. For example, bees are common species, but they are the main pollinator, which is essential for grain yield and the reproduction of plants.

In conclusion, although both views have some validity, I believe that governments and international organization need to take steps to stop animal extinction.