Some people say that it is possible for a county to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both view and give your opinion

To know whether a country is developed or not, just assess its economy and almost every country sacrifices the health of its environment for economic expansion. While some people believe that the desire to grow economy without adverse impacts on the environment is unpractical, I think that a strong economy and a clean environment can co-exist.

On the one hand, the economic growth will inevitably lead to environmental degradation. Firstly, a prosperous economy is associated with industrial development, which requires an enormous amount of energy source and raw materials. Therefore, the more developed an economy becomes, the more its environment is exploited and the more fumes is released from manufacturing operation, which is causing problems including global warming and air pollution. Secondly, as a consequence of more advanced economy, citizens with higher standard living have increasingly great demand for consumer goods, thereby the quantity of waste produced will rapidly climb. For example, plastic consumption per capita in VietNam went up sharply from 3,8 kg per year to 41,3 kg per person between 1990 and 2018.

On the other hand, countries have also realized the importance of environmental protection. Thanks to tremendous capital capability, first-world nations have been applying their breakthrough in science and technology in figuring out measures to curb adverse impacts of economic expansion on the nature. In fact, scientists have found alternative energy sources such as wind and solar energy which are environmentally-friendly yet can fulfil the needs of people. Furthermore, governments can invest in green industries and encourage inhabitants to use green goods.

In conclusion, even though it is argued that environmental damage is unavoidable due to the acceleration in economic development, it is possible if humans to take action to increase the use of alternative energy and encourage recycling.