As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss 2 views and give your opinion.

Improving the road system is a matter of the most concern due to the proliferation of private cars recently. While some people argue that those who use cars should shoulder the responsibility for paying for the construction of roads, I believe that such expenditures should be the liability of the government.

The principal reason why car commuters should cover these costs stems from their overuse of road. Compared to other means of transportation like a bicycle and a motorcycle, a car obviously not only occupies much more road space, but also wears the road more due to its large weight and size. In 2019, Seasia website released data on car ownership ratio for every 1,000 people of Southeast Asian countries, accordingly Brunei topped the list with 721 vehicles. As a result, the need for expansion and enhancement of roads is mainly to facilitate a more comfortable journey for car users. Therefore, it is reasonable to assign the disbursements to car owners to pay for the maintenance and extension of the infrastructure. In addition, when citizens incurring additional costs for road system discourage their desire for driving, which will help to reduce traffic congestion and also pollution.

However, I think that the investment for road infrastructure project should be incurred by the government for the following reason. Firstly, the main role of authorities is to improve the citizens' standard of living, and an efficient transportation system is just one of the residents' basic need. In fact, the efficiency in road transport is the backbone of a country's economy, and therefore it is not too difficult to understand why governments always give this top priority. Secondly, as in many countries, car buyers are charged an exorbitant amount of tax when they want to own and drive a car on roads, so it is unfair for them to shoulder additional charges for road upgrades. For example, inhabitants in VietNam have to spend almost twice as much to own a car than in other nations because of taxes and fee account for 40-50% of car prices.

In conclusion, states can use the proceeds from taxes and BOT stations for road infrastructure investment instead of putting more burden on people.