Some people say that it is a waste of time to plan for the future and that it is more important to focus on the present. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There are two strikingly contrast view that whether people should plan ahead or whether solely focus on present chances. In my opinion, the two sides are not contradictory and both are needed to achieve a successful life.

On the one hand, it is a well-established fact that everyone must create plans for every activity in their life, at all time. To begin with, by planning for the future, people can set out clear targets, which should be accompanied with a self-made step-by-step guideline. Thanks to this, planners tend to devote time and effort to pursuing these goals instead of roaming around aimlessly and wasting time doing fruitless works. In addition, in a fast-changing world, it is necessary to precisely anticipate the upcoming situations, along with difficulties and opportunities it provides as well. By doing this, people will not find the themselves ill-prepared for the problems and can quickly seize the actual chances. For instance, in the fiercely competitive market of a globalizing world, any business leaders who have a far-sighted and comprehensive vision definitely help his or her own company to have an advantageous position over other competitors.

On the other hand, utilization of the present opportunities is the key to the materialization of plans. This due to the fact that by concentrating on current situation, people may recognize a large number of existing obstacles to their future plan which requires to be thoroughly addressed before proceeding. This can greatly contribute to the fulfillment of plan because it reduces the likelihood of giving up half way when facing with numerous difficulties at the start. Another reason needed to be considered is that if people never take any real action, their future plans will remain as abstract thoughts in mind only. Therefore, planning without immediate action would be neither realistic nor productive.

In conclusion, creating plans for future greatly increase the likelihood of being successful, but the prerequisite is that we should convert our plan into real action step by step from the very start.