Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular

species of plants and animals, others say that there are more important environmental

problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays there are many environmental problems that draw the attention of people around the world. Many people believe the most likely problem is that the extinction of specific species of vegetation or animals whilst I strongly agree with those who reckon there are many other probable issues that are more serious, air pollution for example.

Turning to the belief that species extinction is the main environmental problem. Because of the influence of human’s activity, many plants or animals are becoming endangered. This, therefore, can lead to habitat loss or an unbalanced ecosystem. If some agricultural animals are being lost, it may affect the human’s food supply or cause the lack of daily nutrients.

On the other hand, I agree with the other view. Besides the loss of species, there are many more important issues, which can directly and quickly affect to people’s health as well as the Earth. Namely, air pollution or water pollution do have myriad devastating effects on the environment and human beings. It is caused by deforestation or the lack of people’s awareness. And it is obvious that air pollution causes not only many health’s problems but also the degradation of environmental quality. Furthermore, it can be one of the main causes of global warming, which is known as the most burning concern of our time.

In conclusion, the lack of some species is one of the environmental problems but there are many more significant issues that need to be urgently solved. For instance, air pollution or water pollution.