Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that the loss of particular organisms is the most serious problem in the environment whilst others disagree and think that our Mother Earth is currently facing more environmental issues not only the loss of creatures. This essay will look into both sides of the argument and provide my support to the latter view.

On the one hand, I understand why some people think that if animals and plants die out, people will suffer negative effects from the environment. To begin with, it will threaten to global food security. When animals in the first steps of food chain die, the number of animals in the rest will be decreased. The insects, for instant, help to pollinate crops that supports farmers to have a high productivity of farm. If there is a decrease in the amount of insect, the quantity of crops will also drop. It leads to imbalance of global food. The second reason is the appearance of new problems. When natural foods reduce, human needs alternative food that is a motivation to build a lot of factories. The development of food industry will be bad impact on the environment.

However, many disagree and feel that there are more serious problems that people need to solve immediately. The first issue worth mentioning is global warming. The consequences of global warming are tons of ice are melting in the Antarctic and increase of sea level. Some areas close to the sea will be flooded which leads to loss of human habitation. In addition, air pollution affects significantly to our health, specifically physical health. When people breathe in toxic air, the respiratory system has negative impact.

To conclude, although it cannot be denied that loss of plants and animals is serious problem, I am of opinion that there are more environmental issues which need to solve.