Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental problems are classified on different levels of importance by people. While the most profound concern of some people is endangered species, others argue that there are more crucial problems. In my opinion, every single issue that is threatening the planet ought to regarded as a significant one.

On the one hand, the extinction of species will bring about major consequences. Animals and plants rely on one each other through the food chain. Thus, loss or deficiency of any kind can undermine the balance of the ecosystems. Undoubtedly, an unbalanced nature would be problematic in unexpected ways. For instance, the loss of a predator animal in Australia has increased the number of rabbits, and the rabbits invade the farms frequently and ruin agricultural products, all the time.

As the earth is an integrated system, a disorder in any part could develop unpredictable malfunctions in other parts. Though the malfunctions might be felt promptly or in an extended time, their importance should be considered equal. For instance, the short term impact of global warming in large cities is air pollution. Air pollution almost makes many cities throughout the world inhabitable, and many dwellers are suffering from respiratory and other potential diseases. In comparison, the long term impact of global warming could be the rise in sea levels stemming from glaciers melting. Surprisingly, habitats of many endangered polar species will be devastated as a result of global warming.

In conclusion, the dependency of different parts of the system to each other is undeniable. Yet, it seems unreasonable to concentrate on addressing a single environmental issue.