Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, whether or not the risks of endangered flora and fauna are the most serious consequences of our worsening environment has become a controversial issue in many parts of the world. It is argued that the loss of wildlife is the most urgent. Nevertheless, I maintain that the negative impact of other natural disasters outweighs that of non-existent plants and animals for several reasons.

On the one hand, the disappearance of wild animals can entail the lack of natural balance of all creatures on the Earth because wild creatures have a huge influence on preservation biodiversity. This can lead to food shortages in many countries that suffer from the population boom. In addition, the extinction of some plants can have a lot of domino effects on people’s lives. For example, flood, soil erosion, air pollution, and acid rain have happened and lasted for many years; as a result, people endure the failure of crops and cannot ensure a good financial health. Besides, when fauna and flora die, soil can be supplied nutrients to make the high qualities and quantities of agricultural products. If not enough wild creatures left, fields will become exhausted and turn from the cultivated land to the wasteland.

On the other hand, I incline that some disasters which stem from climate change, such as exploiting too many natural resources, over-abusing chemicals to foster the development of plants or animals, and logging forests, can be more dangerous. Firstly, some countries nowadays, such as Japan or Australia, have to face disasters related to temperature degrees like hurricanes, tsunamis, and blizzards. Many unfortunate people died because of these, however, the lack of foods or nutritious soil can be reduced and rehabilitated without any death. Moreover, the COVID-19 epidemic can result in a high mortality rate all over the world and it is the most urgent case that the government has to control.

To sum up, while the extinction of plants and animals can have some consequences, other disasters are far more dangerous because their consequences are immediate and more pressing. I suggest that the government should place more importance on protecting-environment awareness than on entertainment or tourist facilities.