Some people say that marriages should be arranged by intermediaries. Others say that young people should be free to choose their marriage partners. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Undoubtedly, getting married is a major milestone in human life. Some people, therefore, claim that it must be done through the matchmaking procedure, while others advocate the freedom of selection that the young people deserve. Personally, I am firmly of the latter viewpoint for the following rationales.

In the first place, marriage for love enables people to liberally find their own partner. This choice should be made on the basis of compatibility, common ground and sometimes background. As it is their own proper decision, partners will therefore definitely feel contented and have a sense of responsibility. Without love, a marriage is more like a contract instead of an emotional connection between two individuals. In addition, a social survey has shown that children who live in a love-based family are more mentally healthy and caring in comparison with others.

Another point to consider is the fact that love matrimony promotes happiness and self-satisfaction from both sides. When allowed to live with true feelings, spouses will feel deeply engaged in their relationship and therefore better comprehend and sympathize for each other. Furthermore, a feeling of wholeheartedness is fundamental for a happy-ending relationship. Therefore, only mutual voluntary commitment which blossoms from the passion will be the best glue for a real life love story.

All things considered, it is my strong belief that a sentimental marriage is far more advantageous than the matched one. The right to choose for their own companion which positively gains their level of self-fulfillment is the root for a long lasting blissful married life. Moreover, children can also seek for their parents’ advice to better opt for their future partner.