Some people say that marriages should be arranged by intermediaries. Others say that young people should be free to choose their marriage partners. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Marriage is indeed a crucial milestone of a lifeline. Although it is a common practice that marriages are decided by parents and matchmakers, I am strongly convinced that marital happiness should be based on an individual's affection and willingness.

To begin with, arranged marriage can eliminate a tremendous amount of stress from finding a prospective partner. These days many young people are overwhelmed with an excessive workload, which leaves them little time for romantic relationships or casual dating. To ensure certainty in selecting a second half, matchmaking can possibly be a time-saving option. Furthermore, arranged marriage provides the opportunity for parents' involvement in the decision-making of their children's unions. In certain countries such as India or Nepal, It has become an unwritten rule to ask for permission from parents and older guardians before a man and a woman tie a knot. The couple will stand a higher chance of getting married when their parents find both families share the same common grounds such as financial background, cultural norms, and ethics.

Critics of the above ideas claim that arranged marriage can not guarantee life-long happiness because it limits the opportunity to find a compatible spouse. Couples who engage in this type of marriage tend to sacrifice genuine personal emotions for the sake of their family’s interest. For this reason, they might not get along well with each other, leading to more dissatisfaction. Without mutual affection, it is difficult for these couples to overcome any inevitable or unexpected challenges in their married lives. This can cause more conflicts and mental damages to the husband or wife, as their marriage is forced and maintained by parents’ obligation.

In conclusion, while there are several beneficial factors to marriages anticipated by third parties, I can confer that the negative consequences of arranged marriage far outweigh its advantages.