Giving detailed descriptions of crimes on TV or newspapers has bad influences, so information of this kind in the media should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Stories of crime are frequently covered in the press. How detailed those stories are is a matter of debate. Some believe that such an approach to news coverage is highly damaging, while others think otherwise. In my opinion, restrictions are necessary.

To start with, detailed reports which are shown on the TV or newspaper could be a helpful source for would-be wrongdoers to learn and draw experience from. Normally, a criminal description comprises various sophisticated tricks, techniques that have been used, and how the police handle that case step by step. By learning from that, individuals could enhance those skills to a higher level, and also could comprehend ways to avoid the police hunt. Therefore, it would be more and more complicated for those offenders to be apprehended.

Furthermore, the impact on youngsters is deleterious/detrimental/injurious. The frequent exposure to violent programs makes those fragile children even more vulnerable. The mind is embedded by those offenses, thereby turning that individual into a dangerous criminal who is hard to be reeducated.

Critics of the above idea might claim that by giving a detailed report in mass media, governments could draw public attention to the case, which contributes to the process of investigation. This is true to some extent. Public support is necessary but should only stop at providing information about the case. In some circumstances, where so dedicated and curious are people that they decided to investigate alone, it would be very dangerous for their life.

To conclude, regulations need to be imposed by policy makers and authorities. Both children and adults deserve to live in a world which is free of worries and concerns caused by criminal attempts. News is to inform, not to mess things up.