What do you think about technology in education? What are the pros and cons?

It is true that new technologies have had an influence on education. Technology has affected the way people learn in various ways, and in my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, innovations in technological devices and applications have profoundly brought about benefits for education. Firstly, technology has greatly expanded access to education. In medieval times, books were rare and only an elite few had access to educational opportunities. Individuals had to travel to centers of learning to get an education. However, today, massive amounts of information (books, audio, images, videos) are available at one’s fingertips through the Internet, and opportunities for formal learning are available online worldwide through the Khan Academy, MOOCs, podcasts, traditional online degree programs, and more. Access to learning opportunities today is unprecedented in scope thanks to technology. To cite another example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, since social distancing and some policies are promulgated by the government, online learning is becoming a powerful and prevalent educational tool that is being used by almost all over the world. Moreover, the effective use of digital learning tools in classrooms can increase student engagement, help teachers improve their lesson plans, and facilitate personalized learning. It also helps students build essential 21st-century skills.

On the other hand, individuals who use digital devices and applications in the wrong way can be badly affected by them. Firstly, besides useful knowledge Internet also has negative things namely games, fake news, depraved information which can attract and become a threat to children. For instance, the attraction of online games, social media, apparently can interrupt the learning process of some children. Therefore, their academic achievement definitely will go down. Furthermore, due to online learning, students could be lack social interactions which can lead to social isolation.

To conclude, certain development in technology has become vital to education in this new era. Despite that, technology would also have some strongly negative impact on individuals who don’t correctly use them.