The pursuit of happiness is an everlasting human endeavor in all societies. Some people considered that material possessions whether it is money, fame, authority or social status are an important contributing factor towards happiness while others claim that it is possible for people to be happy without or with little possessions to which I agree the most. In my opinion, there are other aspects of life that plays an important role in creating happiness.

Many people think that they can obtain happiness through acquisition. A typical example can be reflected in the activities of a shrewd businessman, who is in habit of rushing through life, motivated by anything that sounds profitable or lucrative. The sad truth is that only some of them become millionaires after years of striving. The brutal truth is that many rich people are so obsessed with possessing and retaining money that it is hard for them to relax and enjoy in life.

Although money, for example, brings happiness to a lot of people, it does not necessarily follow that people with little money are, therefore, unhappy. Take the example of the comparison between people in developing countries and in developed countries, most Westerns would agree that people in developing countries are happier and enjoy stronger family bounding than the people in developed countries.

One way that people can obtain happiness is through their work. For instance, a doctor doing volunteer work in the underdeveloped countries may have little possessions but the reward of helping people and doing the job they are good at brings happiness in itself. In other words, happiness can be found by using skills that people are trained for and through job satisfaction.

To sum up, material possessions are not essentials for happiness, which can be found through strong family bounding and job satisfaction. If more people strived in life towards true happiness instead of material possessions, the world would be a better place.