International tourism is now the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it brings tensions rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is an undeniable fact that the tourism industry has sprouted up in recent years due to reduced traveling cost and soften visa policies, etc. Thousands of travelers are traveling around the globe for leisure, businesses and for other purposes. The continuous and steady growth of international tourism has brought together people of different cultures and inevitably leads to misunderstanding and conflicts that are difficult to resolve.

Among the forces contributing to the tensions behind cross-cultural encounters, those of language barriers are perhaps the most prominent. Communications with foreigners have always been difficult and lead to misunderstandings even with the help of tour guide or interpreters. Moreover, differences in customs and traditions also produce a lot of unpleasantness during the journey. In many Muslim countries, for example, pork and wines are not served being prohibited in religion. This may be particularly difficult to adapt to for travelers planning a long-term stay. Furthermore, a western woman traveling to Middle-East may find it annoying to wear a headscarf.

Apart from problems arises due to cultural conflicts, international tourism may lead to conflicts between tourists and the local community. International tourism brings a huge number of tourists from all over the world to a local community who may prefer to live peacefully without disruptions from foreigners. However, noise, congestion, and pollution always accompany international tourists to an environment and culture of a region they visit.

To sum up, there is no doubt that international tourism is the foremost vehicle for cultural exchange and proves to be an effective way to boost regional economic growth. However, before a cultural gap that exists between home and foreign destinations can be bridged, it always creates tensions rather than understanding along the trip.