People’s opinions differ as to whether or not advanced technology today facilitates shopping. While there are several benefits to e-commerce, including convenience and time efficiency, I still believe that it bears some inconveniences, such as the absence of try-on opportunities and inadequate refund policies.

On the one hand, online shopping is superior to conventional methods in terms of its 24/7 services. Due to the unlimited operating hours of the internet, users are able to make purchase orders whenever they want. Those shopping traditionally, however, have to do it at a fixed time. Additionally, e-shopping customers have more chances to get a deep insight into commodities in terms of their quality, prices, and comments from other consumers through the internet. Traditional shoppers often have to travel long distances just to find the goods that meet their demands, which can be time-consuming. For example, cyber shoppers can make a shopping decision quickly and accurately by reading customers’ evaluations during an after-sales service.

Despite the above arguments, I support the view that technological advancements have made shopping more complicated. Firstly, for clothes purchased via the internet, try-on opportunities are impossible. In case of unfit garments or minor scratches, e-commerce shoppers are more likely to get stuck without the ability to physically check. Secondly, there are few detailed refund or exchange terms available on online retailers, leading to a lack of understanding or even misunderstanding. Moreover, if there are refund policies, they are usually complex and intricate. For instance, those shopping on Shopee or Lazada must fill out a set of forms, and make a video recording about commodities in case of exchanging products or refunding money, while traditional customers can get money back or exchange their commodities more easily.

In conclusion, I believe that virtual shopping has many benefits, such as a convenient and time-effective shopping environment, however, it also has several drawbacks, including the lack of try-on opportunities and vague refund regulations. I am also convinced that internet-based shopping will be more popular if they change their policies about before and after-sales services.