Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music issaid to have the power that can connect people, regardless their backgrounds,religions or ages. I completely agree with this view, and will give my reasonsbelow. Musiccan certainly reach across cultural and national boundaries, bringing people from allaround the world together. Back to the 1980s, a worldwide rock concerts namedLive Aid had been opened by prince Charles and princess Diana in London. Theconcert’s objective was to raise funds for famine relief in Ethiopia. Two live events were heldsimultaneously in the UK and the US, and they had raised $127 million. The concerts were a huge success,both in terms of the number of people around the world who watched them andtheir impact on international public awareness of the famine. Theydemonstrated, and many people believe, that music truly is the planet’s globallanguage. Furthermore, music also has the ability toconnect people from different generations. Regardless of age, we can all enjoya memorable melody, a strong rhythm or a beautiful singing voice, and the bestsongs seem to make us have the same feeling and thought. This would explainwhy televised music competitions, such as ‘The X Factor’ or ‘The Voice’, aresuch popular prime-time shows. These programmes attract incredibly broadaudiences because singing and popular songs appeal to children, parents andgrandparents alike. I believe that no other form of entertainment can bringfamilies together in this way.  In conclusion, I believe that music is uniquein its own. It creates shared experiences between people, irrespective ofculture and age.