Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When looking for a way to connect people from different generations or of various nationalities, people often suggest music as a mean of connection. In this essay, I will discuss the effect of music on different occasions to determine whether musical elements is suitable for bringing people together.

On the one hand, music has proven to be an effective way to help people understand each other during social events. For instance, when I was in high school, at the beginning of each week, one class was selected to perform a piece of music which could either be a dance or a song in front of the entire school. These performances had showed our teachers what younger generation was attract to at the time and help them figure out the proper teaching method. Furthermore, music could also help people from different countries overcome the language barrier. A person doesn't have to understand Vietnamese in order to figure out the romantic feeling embed inside a traditional "ca tru" melody. Or someone who is not fluent in English could still experience the tension in a dramatic opera performance.

On the other hand, using music in inappropriate occasions would not only push people away from each other but also create bad impressions toward one another. For example, when travelling in public vehicle such as trains or busses, people often stay away from someone who is listening to loud music as they found the person annoying and impolite. In another case, playing cheerful songs with informal lyrics in a formal events is often considered as rude and disrespectful. Without careful consideration of the situation, the genre and the content of the song, music would become the wall that separate people.

In conclusion, while I do acknowledge the impressive effect music has on connecting people from different backgrounds, the way we use music to bring people closer should be carefully considered.