Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the recent years, working for ourselves rather than a company or organization has become a trend which is rising rapidly. In this essay, I would discuss the reason behind this shift in the labour market and the potential obstabcles of becoming the employer of yourself.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people choose to be self-employed as this new type of employment benefit them in various way. Firstly, not having to work for a particular company or organization allows you to be flexible in both time and workload and able to pursue a work-life balance lifestyle. The majority of people working in big corporations have reported to find that the 9-5 working habit has destroyed both their profesional and personal life, which eventually leads them to turn down jobs and becom a freelancer. Secondly, not having to follow strict procedure allows people to be more creative and encourage innovation. A large proportion of innovative worker are enjoying the self-employmed system as it help them increase productivity.

On the other hand, people often focusing on positive effects but forgeting to check the negative sides when deciding to work for themselves. Having a secured position in an organization allow you to inherit various benefits such as insurance, pregnancy and health support policies. Not working for any organazation, in this case, means that you wouldn't recieve any of these benefits and may not have a stable income after losing your work capabilitiy. Another difficulties of being a freelancer is having to learn how to manage different aspects of your life. People often struggle when starting their own company as they have long used to follow orders and only take care of a specific duty. As a result, some people have reported to find themselves work even more hours than when they were in a company as they lack the ability to manage time.

In conclusion, while being self-employed may have certain benefits, people should carefully consider before choosing this workstyle as it may do them more harmful than good.