Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, music has become a major factor of the world, it permeates through every aspect of human life. The reason behind this phenomenon is universal but recently, there is a school of thought that music is a reliable means of gathering people regardless of their cultures or ages. I wholeheartedly endorse this opinion and I will discuss it in the following paragraphs.

The first thing worth mentioning is that music is able to put people having a similar favourite kind of music together. Some research has shown that people are likely to prefer chatting with someone whose beloved music is the same as theirs. Next, it is obvious that music has the ability to assist people in reminiscing about the past. Almost all human’s memories include somebody who is extremely significant to them. Therefore, people could easily relive old memories with one another. Also of note is that music can be used to express one’s feeling subtly. I have witnessed many confessions and marriage proposals, they often use music relating to love. In addition, music is used not only in this field but also in showing respect and love to our relatives and so on.

However, those who oppose this view may put forward their opinion that due to the language barrier, people can not catch the meaning of the song; therefore they are unable to get close to one another. Nevertheless, this view fails to consider that, as I have already mentioned above, people can get together just by having the same favored music such as : jazz, hiphop, classical music,... On the other hand, with the newfangled equipment, almost everyone can get the meaning of the lyrics of the song immediately by google translate.

To put it in a nutshell, music is useful as it strengthens people’s relationships irrespective of their ages and cultures. Personally, I also have my own favourite music and I recommend everybody to adopt the similar.