Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has always played a significant role in people's lives. It is often claimed that it is a useful way of bringing people from different cultural backgrounds and age groups closer. In my opinion, this statement is absolutely true.

To begin with, it is inevitably agreed that feelings awaken from melodies are universal. Regardless of cultural features or ethnicity of people, they feel similar emotions. For example, in one of the recent Eurovision contests, the band from France captivated many people's attention and warmed their hearts, even though most of the audience did not know French. Because of this, many of them voted higher points for that French contestant. In other words, since it can affect many people's hearts and evokes almost identical emotions, it brings many nations together.

Not only does music help people from different cultures get closer, but also, it encourages the bonding between the young and the elderly. Joyful and lively musical genres drive many people, from 7 to 70 years old, to dance. To illustrate, in many carnivals across the board, they play pop songs which are desired by all age groups and, therefore, they dance altogether throughout the festival. Similarly, a special kind of music, the classical, is everlasting and, thus, can reach to a larger group of people. Great composers and pianists are admired by millions for centuries. For instance, in any of Beethoven recitals, it is not surprising to see both young and elderly people together, enjoying the show. As it is clearly seen from these aspects, it is one of the vital ways to help people from different ages socialize and unite.

To conclude, from my point of view, music is definitely one of the best methods to help people from distinctive cultures and age groups get together.