Some people say that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The best way to promote recycling from homes is one of the main concerns in the modern world. According to some, this is more likely to be achieved with the help of some seminars and education. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that the government ought to adopt strict laws for waste recycling, as this will encourage more people to recycle and there will be certain punishments against each violation of these laws.

The authorities should have mandatory recycling laws, since more people will start to follow them. Many studies have shown that laws against resources waste had positive influence on peoples recycling habits. For instance, enforcing a law to have several types of recycling bins enables people to separate the garbage, as some part of this waste can be utilized again, after undergoing some cleaning procedures. Therefore, legislating strong policies can result in increased number of people who will consider recycling more wisely.

Another possible way that enacting laws can motivate people to recycle waste might be done by punishments. it is not hard to note that implementing certain sanctions against breaking certain rules will lead to decline in the number of law violations. Thus, when people realize that they may lose financially if they don’t recycle enough waste from their apartments, they will develop their recycling habits.

In conclusion, it was demonstrated that the government will be able to make people recycle their waste by applying relevant laws, since more and more people will start to recycle from homes, otherwise, they will be aware that they will get punished. Though some believe that legal requirements might not be enough, other options should be considered as well such as education and advertising, still, mandatory recycling laws are the best solution to this issue so far.