Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people have been able to travel to other countries easily by modern transports, namely trains and planes. Therefore, languages have been becoming very important in our recent life. Several people believe that people only study new languages for going abroad and working in another country, while others advocated opinion that is there are other reasons for people to study new language. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the latter.

It is understandable why people think purposes to study new languages are so as to go abroad or work in another country. The key rational in favor of this view is that the natural curiosity of human being. People want to go abroad in order to broaden their knowledge and visit tourist attraction. The next reason is the better salary in foreign country. For instance, in Vietnam, an I.T developer is paid 5 million VND per month, meanwhile, the standard salary for a developer in Singapore is about 4 thousand SGD which is approximately 5 times than in Vietnam.

However, we also can study new languages so as to communicate with foreigners. If people only know their mother tongue, it is impossible for them to talk with people in another country. Therefore, it is very hard for importing and exporting goods in a country and this country will face poverty. In addition, languages are also the tool to learn about the culture and the tradition of other countries. I perfectly exemplify this situation. I used to a manga geek when I was a student, but at this time, most of the manga which means Japanese comics on the internet was written by Japanese and I could not understand. Thus, I decided to learn Japanese to satisfy my hobby.

In conclusion, studying new languages is really essential for going abroad or working in another country, but there are many other purposes such as improving finance of a country or learn about the culture and the tradition of another country.