Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a different country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Language is an irrefutable part of communication. It is the way to share emotions,opinions and ideas of each other. Learning foreign languages has several impacts in our daily life. In order to travel in a foreign country or to establish business relationship with foreign clients, learning foreign language is a demand to have a smooth experience in these fields. However, these are not the only reason to learn foreign languages. In this essay I would like to account the effects of learning foreign language in different aspects of life.

There are multifarious points to shore up the urge of absorbing foreign language. First and foremost is education. As far as education in foreign country is concerned learning the local language of that particular country is highly imperative as well as beneficial. For example UK, USA, Canada etc are eminent for their advanced economy and technology. So if a student wishes to pursue higher study in those countries then learning English language is really necessary as it is the official language of those countries.

In addition, if someone wants to travel to a foreign country then it is indispensable to acquire adequate knowledge of the indigenous language of that particular country so that they can not confront to any hindrance in communication. If you want to reduce the flimsy barrier of communication then you should definitely learn the local language so that you can feel the emotion, culture and people.

Third reason is obviously workplace. Many multinational companies want to hire employees who can speak foreign language. Multinational companies have clients scatter all over the world. So to gain sufficient profit in business they need employees who can talk to foreign clients to ensure the client's satisfaction and thus assist to grow the company.

To recapitulate, knowing more than one language does not bring any detrimental effect. It really assist to travel and work in a different country and also it helps to know the cultural diversity of that particular country.