Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

Some people believe that learning a second language is just for the sake of travelling or working for a oversea company. Others do not agree because learning a new language may involve to other factors. In my perspective, i fervently believe that being a bilingual could relate to more causes than just traveling or working abroad.

First of all, people want to learn a language, not their mother tongue, since they have a great passion for it. For example, watching Korean drama has promted my sister an enthusiasm to master this foreign language . She desires to fully understand the lines of the characters either sing along to the K-pop song. Besides, learning a new languge can help people easily get access to other cultures by reading books or watching news and of course, movies. Thus the desiration to learn a new language can derive from the close interest simulated by watching movies or songs of another country.

However, being multi lingual also offers more job opportunity and enhances the living standard. Nowadays, the international companies tend to employ people who know more than one language so they can negotiate with oversea business partners. And their ability of using the another language is crucial as it can either break or make a deal. On top of that, while travelling to another country, knowing foreign language, specifically English, breaks down the language barrier with the natives. Exchanging with them in English can help people avoid being ripped off or cheated by the local retaillers, or taxi drivers. Therefore, studying a foreign language is neccessary even when people want to apply for a job in an oversea company or travel abroad.

In conclusion, the reasons of mastering a new language are more than travelling and working purposes. And it is imperative for people to know a second language to adapt to the modern life.