Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Leaning a foreign language has become an integral part of everyday life. There are those who say that learning a foreign language is needed for working and traveling abroad however others believe that there are more other reasons to learn a new language. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Traveling and working in other countries are the key reasons for learning a foreign language. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favor of learning a foreign language is due to working in other countries. Some people prefer to build their professional career in abroad. That's why they need to be sound in the foreign language. In other words, language proficiency is seen as an important parameter as it helps to communicate with other officials efficiently. As a result, the employee holds a better position in a short period of time. Furthermore,traveling is another reason for learning a foreign language. A good illustration of this is that if someone intends to travel to any English speaking country, he needs to know the English language for communicating purposes. In other words, people must have the ability to express their views and understand the queries of foreigners in certain situations.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that there are more other reasons for learning a foreign language. The prime reason why people intend to learn a second language is because it broadens our horizon of knowledge. By learning other country's languages, we can understand their culture and tradition. As a result, it enriches our knowledge about a foreign country. Secondly, knowing a foreign language is needed for doing business with foreign companies. Since the world expands like a global village, the business has become easier than before. So, if we want businesses with foreign enterprises, we have to learn their language well.

Finally, I would say learning a foreign language is not only necessary for working and travelling abroad but also there are more other reasons behind this.