Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are no the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both views and give your own opini

It is said by many that people learn a new language only to travel or work in another country while others think that those are not the only purposes of learning foreign languages. This essay will look into both opinions and explain why I am in favor of the second view.

The fact that many people learn a new language to solely travel or to work abroad is undeniable. In some developed nations, foreigners are required to be on a certain level of fluency in the languages so that they are qualified enough to live and work there. Therefore, in order to have better job opportunities overseas, people invest their time and effort in studying foreign languages. Plus, travelling is also another reason for learning languages as people can understand the cultures of the countries that they visit and avoid being dependent on automatic translators as well as making linguistic misunderstandings.

However, I would argue that there are many more reasons for learning languages. One of these is for entertainment. For example, with the popularity of K-pop, many young adults and students start learning Korean so that they can understand and sing the songs of their idols. Another reason is for academic purposes. For instance, it is true that in addition to good academic results, students are required to have a good command of English to get accepted to high ranking universities. Moreover, in many countries, English is a compulsory so students have to study English as their second language.

In conclusion, I believe that people learn a foreign language for many different purposes, namely travelling and working abroad or for hobbies and education.