Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There have been heated controversies regarding the purposes of studying a second language. While some people assert traveling or working in international companies to be the sole reasons for acquiring a new language, others believe that there are still some other factors for which people take up a foreign language. Although there is compelling evidence for the former clause, from my perspective, the latter makes more sense.

On the one hand, it is widely acknowledged that more and more people are studying a second language with a view to traveling comfortably or to seeking career opportunities overseas. First and foremost, it is indisputable that obtaining a foreign language can provide people with confidence and convenience while traveling, putting them at ease with no linguistic barriers when having to communicate with native speakers. For instance, a visitor will no longer hesitate to have talks with local residents provided that he is well-equipped with sufficient language skills. In addition, learning and mastering a second language can enhance individuals’ chances of achieving well-paid jobs at international corporates. To be more specific, since the countries are now globally-connected, employers are now seeking workers with good command of language to meet their requirements for the companies’ developments. Therefore, learning a non-native language is crucial for traveling as well as career intentions.

However, on the other hand, there are still other riveting purposes for learning a second language. Firstly, academic aims can be taken into account when studying a foreign language. For example, there is an increasing number of students around the world studying English to go study abroad. Moreover, people’s getting familiar with a new language can help create a united world and remove language fences between people globally, making it another pivotal purpose of obtaining a second language.

In conclusion, while traveling and working are among the factors for which people are learning a foreign language, they are the only purposes, given some of the other aims in terms of academic foundation and international unity.