Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that learning a second language makes easier to get jobs and visit foreign countries. However, others think that apart from above advantages, there are other important significant benefits of studying non native languages. This essay will discuss both sides and draw a conclusion.

To begin with, studying overseas languages can exert considerable positive impacts on journey times and also in a work place. To illustrate, bosses and coworkers would be highly impressed if a new worker had a full command over non domestic languages. Because the fresh employee is less likely to cause misunderstandings that would otherwise readily interrupt the normal flow of a work as this type of mistake is being committed commonly by monolinguals. Fortunately, the multilinguals are genuinely considered to be skilful, confident and independent by directors where they open up strong possibilities of getting a promotion. Likewise, visitors may save money and energy during a travel in an alien country since most drivers try to deceive certain tourists by choosing intentionally a long route when they actually could take a short and a quick course. Therefore, mastering a new dialect explains how it might prevent guests being tricked by senseless drivers.

In addition, there has been a considerable strengthening in the memory of binligual people, according to studies. These people tend to use their brains highly because abroad dialects consist of complicated vocabularies and rules. Needless to say, they are compelled to memorise in order to use new words to communications. So, research has shown that multilinguals have excellent long term memory of lists of items whereas monolinguals have poor thoughts.

To conclude, personally, I believe, knowing alien languages proves extremely beneficial both for demonstrating intelligences and finding new works in an overseas.