Some people say that the only reason for learning foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language

Discuss both views and give your opinion

In today's competitive world, learning a second language has become more vital than ever. However, whether traveling or working is the only reason for learning is a highly debated issue. This essay will discuss both points of view before coming to the reasonable conclusion.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that if a person wants a well-paid job, that person should be able to speak at least two languages. In this regard, the fact that working with foreign customers in English, which is one of the main language in the world, would be highly appreciated. Accordingly, the salary of bilingual job would always be higher. Furthermore, if a person learns other languages besides his mother-tongue at the early age, it will enhance opportunity learning as well as travelling oversea. Thus, the idea that working and traveling are the main purpose of learning new languages is undeniable.

Having said that, scientist indicate that cognitive developments happen faster among children who learn a second language than those who do not. More to the point, people who know many languages are capable of reading more books and communicating with more people. Therefore, learning a second language also support people to understand diverse culture and traditional aspects.

In conclusion, although many people learn a second language only for working or traveling, I believe that there are much more benefits.