Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning other languages is commonly considered to be beneficial for the sake of international job opportunities and travelling. However, according to scholars there are several advantages of speaking a foreign language.

In recent years, travelling and working abroad has become popular than ever before due to improved transportation facilities and economic globalization; which has necessitated the across-border’s languages acquisition. Even a short stay visit to a country abroad can become exceptionally enjoyable if you know the native language as it enables you to appreciate more about that nation’s history, traditions, culture and architecture. Similarly, regarding employment in a foreign country, the ability to speak and understand their national language will result in better communication with colleagues; allowing you to learn the work quicker and reducing misunderstandings.

Moreover, this great skill of understanding and communicating another language is not restricted to the superficial benefits; it is a complete source of intellectual and mental nourishment. For example, some research studies suggest that poly-linguists possess better understanding of complex situations than monolinguists and the constant brain training of switching to different languages enhances their brain efficiency and improves memory. That’s why, in many schools it is now compulsory for pupils to learn at least one foreign language. In addition to this, according to some scientists the risk of Alzheimer’s disease is delayed in bilinguals than monolinguals because of the memory enhancing impact it has.

Knowledge about foreign languages also plays a significant anthropological and social role; it instils a sense of respect and brotherhood for other nations which can promote the establishment of peace and prosperity all around the world.

Therefore, I strongly believe that knowing multiple languages is not only important for going abroad as per travel or work purposes but also for self-development, creativity, improving learning abilities, boosting cognitive functions, delaying the onset of neurological diseases and bringing unity in the globe.