Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss bth these views and give your own opinion.

In modern society people can have comparatively more free time than the past. So some invest their time and money on learning foreign languages. However some people believe the only purpose of learning other languages just for travel or career. On the other hand, some think that can’t be only reason and should not be. Personally, i support the latter.

Definitely, learning other languages can be very helpful for variety of aspects: financial, experiential and so on. In detail, travelers can save their money by speaking a language from where they are traveling and communicating with native people can give them more valuable and practical information than guide books. Moreover, if someone is fluent in foreign languages so if she get a chance to live in other countries, that means she can have a lot more possibilities in her life than people who speak only their mother tongue.

But, learning other languages can open the other view to see the world or status. When South Korea was under military dictatorship, there was severe press censorship. The only way to figure out the truth was foreign press. The dictator Jeon Du Hwan killed hundreds of the citizen in Gwangju for a reason that they protested against the dictatorship. However, people in other region weren’t informed since the government controlled the press in the South Korea. They finally noticed that incident by the New York Times. Since then, many people learned English on purpose to find the not fabricated fact.

To sum up, learning other languages has various benefits, economical and experiential, for sure. Still, its worth lies far beyond than those two reasons.